marathon time!

I’m healthier. Stronger. Wiser.  More experienced the second time around. I’m more excited than nervous, more optimistic than afraid to run this year’s Chicago Marathon.  It’s true; I’m choosing to put my body through another grueling summer. I’m choosing to sweat, pound, wake up at the crack of dawn, chug gallons of water and Gatorade, throw back packets of gel, sit in ice baths.  I’m choosing to “beat my body and make it my slave”.  I’m running for Team World Vision (TWV). I’m choosing hope instead of despair, faith instead of doubt, LIFE instead of death.  Join me.

On Sunday, October 11, 2009, I will be hitting the pavement and running the Chicago Marathon with TWV for the second time.  World Vision works to tackle the ROOT causes of POVERTY by working with children, families, and their communities to provide things like clean water, health care, nutritious food, education, and economic opportunities.   Running with TWV for Chicago Marathon 2008 was an incredible experience.  As I pressed on and crossed that finish line, through a whirlwind of emotions and physical pain, I received that medal and knew that I had accomplished something incredible.  That medal came with support, complete and utter joy, pain, and tears.  That physical accomplishment came with knowing the global impact my communities of supporters were making.  The global impact that I was making.  This is why I’m doing it again.

With your support, I was able to raise over $2,000 for TWV in 2008.  That money was used to help build clean water wells in Zambia.  This year I am setting a goal of $3,000.  So please, sleep on it, think about it, and choose to join me on this journey.

Donate: http://www.firstgiving.com/alicewightman

Leave a Reply

