…THANK YOU…

Things…

First of all, I want to thank all of you for the support you have been to me and my family during this trying week and a half. Your prayers and well wishes have been very appreciated. I urge you to continue to pray for my cousin Danny and my aunt Amy… After spending the weekend with them, reality is beginning to settle in and it’s just going to get harder.

(I realize this is an awkward transition, but it has to be made…)

4 days to go and $500 to raise

With the big day just around the corner, I find myself denying the fact that in just 4 days I will be (hopefully) accomplishing one of my life goals. The more I think about it; the more people ask me about it; the more nervous I am getting. I calculated the amount of miles I have done for my training for this marathon. With all the knee problems, my short hiatus, and having to re-adjust to running only 3 days a week instead of 5/6, I am ending my training 267 miles behind. Scary. But, I’m not going to worry myself with that. I just want to finish.

I feel ready. I’m ready to rest my knees; to stop taking 6-8 Ibuprofen pills a day, to stop having to drink 10 gazillion ounces of water a day; to wake up after the sun comes up on Saturday mornings; to make plans for Friday nights; to drink coffee; to eat chips; to stop having random days of limping around; to drink; to have my week nights back; to sleep; to stop eating nasty gel packs; to stop taking ice baths; to stop spending all of my money on running stuff…

So, you ask, if it has been so painful to do this marathon, then why do it? My answer? Because all of these things are SO small in comparison to all that is happening all around this world. Because if by running I can help save one life, why not? My knee problems are nothing in comparison to starvation; my lack of sleep in nothing in comparison to homelessness; the amount of time I have spent running is nothing in comparison to being orphaned.

So please, please, please join with me in this fight. Help me reach my goal of raising $2000 for Team World Vision. Help me run for life! All donations made from now is going to be matched…that’s doubling the amount of your gift. So please visit my fundraising site: www.firstgiving.com/alicewightman and make a donation in any amount.  Every dollar goes a long way…

Thank you to all who have already supported me through this journey.  It has been such a blessing to see my fund-raised $$ grow through these past several months.  Thank you for your continued support through prayer for my knee.  Please know that when I cross that finish line, I will know that you were a part of getting me there.  So, thank you, thank you, thank you.

With much love,
Alice (Hwang) Wightman
aka: Big AL

PS: If you haven’t emailed me your address yet, please do so… 😉

One thought on “…THANK YOU…

Leave a Reply

