OBAMA! OBAMA! OBAMA!

Is anyone else really excited for the next 12 or 13 weeks of this race!

How fitting was it that 45 years ago yesterday, Martin Luther King Jr. stood on the steps of the LIncoln Memorial and delivered his infamous “I have a dream” speech.  Emmet Till, Rosa Parks, Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas, Project C, these are all pieces of what led to this dream.  Although we have come such a long, LONG way from 45 years ago.  I would still argue that there is more to do.

I recently read something really stupid about how “America is not ready for a black president”; reading it made me want to kick someone.  HARD.  When I read, hear, witness ignorance at its best (or worst), I can’t help but feel total anger and frustration.  REALLY.  Is my anger out of place?  Perhaps, but I’d rather be angry and stand up for what I believe in, then to sit at the wayside and follow the masses and not “rock the boat”.  It’s time people became educated, instead of following in the footsteps of their friends and adults that surround them.  It’s time for people to think for themselves.  Then, make an informed decision…

Which brings up another point I have.  Why is talking about politics so taboo?  Isn’t the presidential election of 2008 really important?  I mean, come on people.  Get over your insecurities, your sensitivities.  This is such an important topic; this will dictate the way America is run for the next 4 years…

That’s it for now.  I tend to get myself into trouble when I talk about politics and racial issues. Let’s just say it’s because I’m SO passionate about it… GO OBAMA!

PS. Happy birthday Mr. McCain, you’re 72.

Leave a Reply

